top of page
  • Writer's pictureaanelson

Seville

The city that stole my heart.


Last weekend I had the opportunity to travel with my study abroad program to Seville. Seville is a charming city in southern Spain that is filled with culture, dancing, and delicious food. Within one day of exploring this city, my heart was stolen and I did not want to leave. Don't get me wrong... I love my new home in Barcelona, but the 70 degree weather and traditional Spanish culture excited me.


One large part of Seville's culture is Flamenco dancing. Flamenco dancing is defined as a professionalized art-form based on the various folkloric music traditions of southern Spain. I was lucky enough to attend a intimate Flamenco show that involved three dances, two singers, and one guitar player. The show was absolutely amazing and left me in awe. There was so much culture in Seville that was not only shown through dance but through street performers, architecture, food, and the laid back atmosphere.



The three days I was in Seville were packed with sightseeing, shopping, eating, and meeting locals. One piece of advice I have for weekend trips is to take advantage of the time you have there. When you only have a few days the time flies by and you are going to wish you had more. Stay out late and force yourself to get up at 8am and have a full day ahead of you. Trust me, you will be tired, but that is what expresso shots are for.


This was my first weekend trip since coming to Barcelona. Not only was this trip a success but it made me excited for the rest of my travels during the time I am in Europe. Can't wait to share more.



xoxo


Abby


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Culture Shocks

A list of five culture shocks I experienced moving to Barcelona, Spain 1. Language. This one is pretty obvious as I went into this experience fully aware of the fact that they do not speak english in

bottom of page